CCPPCJ Logo

Equality Rights Panel


The Equality Rights Panel reviews funding applications and makes all decisions regarding case and project funding that involve equality rights test cases. Each of its seven members brings to the Panel expertise in equality and human rights issues as well as considerable experience with a broad range of equality-seeking groups.

The current Panel consists of:

Linda Jones (British Columbia) (Chair)

Linda raised her two children on welfare and helped start a Welfare Rights Group in the Surrey/White Rock area in the 1980’s. From 1989 - 2001 she was an organizer with End Legislated Poverty - at the time the largest coalition of anti-poverty, union and church groups in BC.


Sharryn Aiken (Ontario)

Lawyer and Professor of Law at Queens University, Sharry is the author of numerous articles on Canadian refugee policies, racism and human rights.


Raj Anand (Ontario)

Partner with Weir Foulds LLP where he practises in the areas of human rights, constitutional and administrative law, labour relations, civil litigation, professional negligence and discipline.


Lorena Sekwan Fontaine, B.A., LL.B., LL.M. (Manitoba)

Lorena Fontaine is Cree and Anishnabe from the Sagkeeng First Nation in Manitoba. Currently, she is an Assistant Professor for the First Nations University of Canada. Lorena has worked with Aboriginal political organizations for the past 15 years. The focus of her work, outside of teaching, includes advocacy for residential school survivors, and Aboriginal youth. Lorena has worked with the Inter-American Human Rights Commission of the Organization of American States as a legal intern, and has assisted in land rights cases for Indigenous peoples in Belize, and the United States. Since 1995, Lorena has been involved with the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund as a board member and subcommittee member. She has also worked as a legal consultant to Thomson Rogers, in the Baxter class action on residential schools, and for the Assembly of First Nations Residential School Unit.


Dianne Pothier (Nova Scotia)

Professor of Law (Dalhousie Law School) at Dalhousie University and author of numerous articles in the areas of labour law, human rights and equality rights, with specific emphasis on gender, disability and their intersections.


Robert Saint-Louis, LL.B., LL.M. (Québec)

Consultant on unemployment and disabilities issues.


Charles C. Smith (Ontario)

Currently Equity Advisor to the Canadian Bar Association and Lecturer, Cultural Pluralism in the Arts, at the University of Toronto Scarborough. Charles is also consultant to the Ontario Human Rights Tribunal regarding OHRC and McKinnon v. HMQ et al.

CCPPCJ Logo

Comité des droits à l'égalité


Le comité des droits à l’égalité passe en revue les demandes de financement et prend toutes les décisions se rapportant aux projets et aux causes types relatives aux droits à l’égalité. Chacun des sept membres possède une expertise dans les domaines des droits de la personne et des droits à l’égalité, en plus d’une solide expérience auprès des nombreux groupes militant pour l’égalité.

Linda Jones (Colombie-Britannique) (Présidente)

Linda a élevé ses deux enfants tout en étant bénéficiaire d’assistance sociale. Elle a participé à la mise sur pied d’un groupe de défense des droits des personnes assistées sociales dans la région de Surrey/White Rock au cours des années 80. De 1989 à 2001, elle a été organisatrice pour le groupe End Legislated Poverty – à cette époque la plus vaste coalition de groupes anti-pauvreté, syndicaux et religieux de la Colombie-Britannique.


Sharryn Aiken (Ontario)

Avocate, professeure de droit à l’Université Queen’s et auteure de nombreux articles sur les politiques canadiennes relatives aux réfugiés, le racisme et les droits de la personne.


Raj Anand (Ontario)

Partenaire du cabinet WeirFoulds LLP où il exerce dans les domaines des droits de la personne, du droit constitutionnel et administratif, des relations de travail, du contentieux civil, de la négligence professionnelle et de la discipline.


Lorena Sekwan Fontaine, B.A., LL.B., LL.M. (Manitoba)

Lorena est cree et anishnabe de la Première nation Agkeeng du Manitoba. Elle est aujourd'hui professeure assistante à l'Université des Premières nations du Canada. Ces quinze dernières années, Lorena a travaillé en collaboration avec des organisations politiques autochtones. Hormis l'enseignement, elle s'est principalement investie dans la défense des anciens élèves de pensionnats et de la jeunesse autochtone. Lorena a travaillé en tant que stagiaire juridique au sein de la Commission Interaméricaine des droits de la personne de l'Organisation des États américains et en tant qu'assistante dans des causes de droits fonciers de populations indigènes du Belize et des Etats-Unis. Depuis 1995, Lorena est membre du conseil d'administration et du sous-comité du Fonds d'action et d'éducation juridiques pour les femmes. Elle a aussi contribué en tant que consultante juridique de Thomson Rogers au recours collectif Baxter sur les pensionnats et a participé à l'Assembly of First Nations Residential School Unit.


Dianne Pothier (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Professeure de droit à l’Université Dalhousie et auteure de plusieurs articles sur le droit du travail, les droits de la personne et le droit à l’égalité, mettant particulièrement l’accent sur le sexe, la déficience et leur intersectionnalité.


Robert Saint-Louis, LL.B., LL.M. (Québec)

Consultant dans le domaine du chômage et des questions de déficiences.


Charles C. Smith (Ontario)

Conseiller en équité pour l'Association du Barreau canadien et enseignant d’un cours sur le pluralisme culturel dans le domaine des arts à l'université de Toronto à Scarborough. Charles est aussi conseiller pour le Tribunal des droits de la personne de l'Ontario dans le cadre de l'affaire OHRC and McKinnon v. HMQ et al.