CCPPCJ Logo

Key Sections of the Charter and the Constitution


Key Sections of the Charter and the Constitution

Sections which relate to Equality and Language Rights under the Court Challenges Program are described below:
*Guarantee of Rights and Freedoms
*Fundamental Freedoms
*Legal Rights
*Equality Rights
*Official Languages of Canada
*Minority Language Education Rights
*Enforcement
*Application of the Charter
*General


Guarantee of Rights and Freedoms

Section 1
The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms guarantees the rights and freedoms set out in it subject only to such reasonable limits prescribed by law as can be demonstrably justified in a free and democratic society.

Back to Top
Back to Top


Fundamental Freedoms

Section 2
Everyone has the following fundamental freedoms:

  • a. freedom of conscience and religion;
  • b. freedom of thought, belief, opinion and expression, including freedom of the press and other media of communication;
  • c. freedom of peaceful assembly; and
  • d. freedom of association.

Back to Top
Back to Top


Legal Rights

Section 7
Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of the person and the right not to be deprived thereof except in accordance with the principles of fundamental justice.

Back to Top
Back to Top


Equality Rights

Section 15
1. Every individual is equal before and under the law and has the right to the equal protection and equal benefit of the law without discrimination and, in particular, without discrimination based on race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, sex, age or mental or physical disability.

Subsection (1) does not preclude any law, program or activity that has as its object the amelioration of conditions of disadvantaged individuals or groups including those that are disadvantaged because of race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, sex, age or mental or physical disability

Back to Top
Back to Top


Official Languages of Canada

Section 16

  • 1. English and French are the official languages of Canada and have equality of status and equal rights and privileges as to their use in all institutions of the Parliament and government of Canada.
  • 2. English and French are the official languages of New Brunswick and have equality of status and equal rights and privileges as to their use in all institutions of the legislature and government of New Brunswick.
  • 3. Nothing in this Charter limits the authority of Parliament or a legislature to advance the equality of status or use of English and French.

Section 16.1

  • 1. The English linguistic community and the French linguistic community in New Brunswick have equality of status and equal rights and privileges, including the right to distinct educational institutions as are necessary for the preservation and promotion of those communities.
  • 2. The role of the legislature and the government of New Brunswick to preserve and promote the status, rights and privileges referred to in subsection (1) is affirmed.

Section 18

  • 1. The statutes, records and journals of Parliament shall be printed and published in English and French and both language versions are equally authoritative.
  • 2. The statutes, records and journals of the legislature of New Brunswick shall be printed and published in English and French and both language versions are equally authoritative.

Section 19

  • 1. Either English or French may be used by any person in, or in any pleading in or process issuing from, any court established by Parliament.
  • 2. Either English or French may be used by any person in, or in any pleading in or process issuing from, any court of New Brunswick.

Section 20

  • 1. Any member of the public in Canada has the right to communicate with, and to receive available services from, any head or central office of an institution of the Parliament or government of Canada in English or French, and has the same right with respect to any other office or any such institution where
  • a. there is a significant demand for communications with and service from that office in such language; or
  • b. due to the nature of the office, it is reasonable that communications with and services from that office be available in both English and French.
  • 2. Any member of the public in New Brunswick has the rights to communicate with, and to receive available services from, any office of an institution of the legislature or government of New Brunswick in English or French.

Section 21

  • Nothing in sections 16 to 20 abrogates or derogates from any right, privilege or obligation with respect to the English and French language, or either of them, that exists or is continued by virtue of any other provision of the Constitution of Canada.

Section 22

  • Nothing in sections 16 to 20 abrogates or derogates from any legal or customary right or privilege acquired or enjoyed either before or after the coming into force of this Charter with respect to any language that is not English or French.

Back to Top
Back to Top


Minority Language Education Rights

Section 23

  • 1. Citizens of Canada
  • a. whose first language learned and still understood is that of the English or French linguistic minority population of the province in which they reside, or
  • b. who have received their primary school instruction in Canada in English or French and reside in a province where the language in which they received that instruction is the language of the English or French linguistic minority population of the province, have the right to have their children receive primary and secondary school instruction in that language in that province, have the right to have their children receive primary and secondary school instruction in that language in that province.
  • 2. Citizens of Canada of whom any child has received or is receiving primary or secondary school instruction in English or French in Canada, have the right to have all their children receive primary and secondary school instruction in the same language.
  • 3. The right of citizens of Canada under subsections (1) and (2) to have their children receive primary and secondary school instruction in the language of the English or French linguistic minority population of a province
  • a. applies wherever in the province the number of children of citizens who have such a right is sufficient to warrant the provision to them out of public funds of minority language instruction; and
  • b. includes, where the number of those children so warrants, the right to have them receive that instruction in minority language education facilities provided out of public funds.

Back to Top
Back to Top


Enforcement

Section 24

  • 1. Anyone whose rights or freedoms, as guaranteed by this Charter, have been infringed or denied may apply to a court of competent jurisdiction to obtain such remedy as the court considers appropriate and just in the circumstances.
  • 2. Where, in proceedings under subsection (1), a court concludes that evidence was obtained in a manner that infringed or denied any rights or freedoms guaranteed by this Charter, the evidence shall be excluded if it is established that, having regard to all the circumstances, the admission of it in the proceedings would bring the administration of justice into disrepute.

Back to Top
Back to Top


Application of Charter

Section 32

  • 1. This Charter applies
  • a. to the Parliament and government of Canada in respect of all matters within the authority of Parliament including all matters relating to the Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories; and
  • b. to the legislature and government of each province in respect of all matters within the authority of the legislature of each province.
  • 2. Notwithstanding subsection (1), section 15 shall not have effect until three years after this section comes into force.

Section 33

  • 1. Parliament or the legislature of a province may expressly declare in an Act of Parliament or of the legislature, as the case may be, that the Act or a provision thereof shall operate notwithstanding a provision included in section 2 or sections 7 or 15 of this Charter.
  • 2. An Act or a provision of an Act in respect of which a declaration made under this section is in effect shall have such operation as it would have but for the provision of this Charter referred to in the declaration.
  • 3. A declaration made under subsection (1) shall cease to have effect five years after it comes into force or on such earlier date as may be specified in the declaration.
  • 4. Parliament or a legislature of a province may re-enact a declaration made under subsection (1).
  • 5. Subsection (3) applies in respect of a re-enactment made under subsection (4).

Back to Top
Back to Top


General

Section 27
This Charter shall be interpreted in a manner consistent with the preservation and enhancement of the multicultural heritage of Canadians.

Section 28
Notwithstanding anything in this Charter, the rights and freedoms referred to in it are guaranteed equally to male and female persons.

Section 52

  • 1. The Constitution of Canada is the supreme law of Canada, and any law that is inconsistent with the provision of the Constitution is, to the extent of the inconsistency, of no force or effect.
  • 2. The Constitution Act includes
  • a. the Canada Act, including this Act;
  • b. the Acts and orders referred to in Schedule I; and
  • c. any amendment to any Act or order referred to in paragraph (a) or (b).

Amendments to the Constitution of Canada shall be made only in accordance with the authority contained in the Constitution of Canada.

Back to Top
Back to Top

CCPPCJ Logo

Articles clés de la Charte et de la Constitution


Articles clés de la Charte et de la Constitution

Articles clés de la Charte et de la Constitution se rapportant au mandat du Programme de contestation judiciaire en matière de droits à l'égalité et de droits linguistiques:
Garanties des droits et libertés
Libertés fondamentales
Garanties juridiques
Droits à l'égalité
Langues officielles du Canada
Droits à l'instruction dans la langue de la minorité
Recours
Application de la Charte
Dispositions générales


Garanties des droits et libertés

Article 1
La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés garantit les droits et libertés qui y sont énoncés. Ils ne peuvent être restreints que par une règle de droit, dans des limites qui soient raisonnables et dont la justification puisse se démontrer dans le cadre d'une société libre et démocratique.

Haut de page
Haut de page


Libertés fondamentales

Article 2
Chacun a les libertés fondamentales suivantes :

  • a. liberté de conscience et de religion;
  • b. liberté de pensée, de croyance, d'opinion et d'expression, y compris la liberté de la presse et des autres moyens de communication;
  • c. liberté de réunion pacifique; et
  • d. liberté d'association.

Haut de page
Haut de page


Garanties juridiques

Article 7
Chacun a droit à la vie, à la liberté et à la sécurité de sa personne ; il ne peut être porté atteinte à ce droit qu'en conformité avec les principes de justice fondamentale.

Haut de page
Haut de page


Droits à l'égalité

Article 15
1. La loi ne fait acception de personne et s'applique également à tous, et tous ont droit à la même protection et au même bénéfice de la loi, indépendamment de toute discrimination, notamment des discriminations fondées sur la race, l'origine nationale ou ethnique, la couleur, la religion, le sexe, l'âge ou les déficiences mentales or physiques.

Le paragraphe (1) n'a pas pour effet d'interdire les lois, programmes ou activités destinés à améliorer la situation d'individus ou de groupes défavorisés, notamment du fait de leur race, de leur origine nationale ou ethnique, de leur couleur, de leur religion, de leur sexe, de leur âge ou de leur déficiences mentales ou physiques.

Haut de page
Haut de page


Langues officielles du Canada

Article 16

  • 1. Le français et l'anglais sont les langues officielles du Canada ; ils ont un statut et des droits et privilèges égaux quant à leur usage dans les institutions du Parlement et du gouvernement du Canada.
  • 2. Le français et l'anglais sont les langues officielles du Nouveau-Brunswick ; ils ont un statut et des droits et privilèges égaux quant à leur usage dans les institutions de la Législature et du gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick.
  • 3. La présente charte ne limite pas le pouvoir du Parlement et des législatures de favoriser la progression vers l'égalité de statut ou d'usage du français et de l'anglais.

Article 16.1

  • 1. La communauté linguistique française et la communauté linguistique anglaise du Nouveau-Brunswick ont un statut et des droits et privilèges égaux, notamment le droit à des institutions d'enseignement distinctes et aux institutions culturelles distinctes nécessaires à leur protection et à leur promotion.
  • 2. Le rôle de la législature et du gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick de protéger et de promouvoir le statut, les droits et les privilèges visés au paragraphe (1) est confirmé.

Article 18

  • 1. Les lois, les archives, les comptes rendus et les procès-verbaux du Parlement sont imprimés et publiés en français et en anglais, les deux versions des lois ayant également force de loi et celles des autres documents ayant même valeur.
  • 2. Les lois, les archives, les comptes rendus et les procès-verbaux de la Législature du Nouveau-Brunswick sont imprimés et publiés en français et en anglais, les deux versions des lois ayant également force de loi et celles des autres documents ayant même valeur.

Article 19

  • 1. Chacun a le droit d'employer le français ou l'anglais dans toutes les affaires dont sont saisis les tribunaux établis par le Parlement et dans tous les actes de procédure qui en découlent.
  • 2. Chacun a le droit d'employer le français ou l'anglais dans toutes les affaires dont sont saisis les tribunaux du Nouveau-Brunswick et dans tous les actes de procédure qui en découlent.

Article 20

  • 1. Le public a, au Canada, droit à l'emploi du français ou de l'anglais pour communiquer avec le siège ou l'administration centrale des institutions du Parlement ou du gouvernement du Canada ou pour en recevoir les services ; il a le même droit à l'égard de tout autre bureau de ces institutions là où, selon le cas
  • a. l'emploi du français ou de l'anglais fait l'objet d'une demande importante ;
  • b. l'emploi du français et de l'anglais se justifie par la vocation du bureau.
  • 2. Le public a, au Nouveau-Brunswick, droit à l'emploi du français ou de l'anglais, pour communiquer avec tout bureau des institutions de la législature ou du gouvernement ou pour en recevoir les services.

Article 21

  • Les articles 16 à 20 n'ont pas pour effet, en ce qui a trait à la langue française ou anglaise ou à ces deux langues, de porter atteinte aux droits, privilèges ou obligations qui existent ou sont maintenus aux termes d'une autre disposition de la Constitution du Canada.

Article 22

  • Les articles 16 à 20 n'ont pas pour effet de porter atteinte aux droits et privilèges, antérieurs ou postérieurs à l'entrée en vigueur de la présente charte et découlant de la loi ou de la coutume, des langues autres que le français ou l'anglais.

Haut de page
Haut de page


Droits à l'instruction dans la langue de la minorité

Article 23

  • 1. Les citoyens canadiens :
  • a. dont la première langue apprise et encore comprise est celle de la minorité francophone ou anglophone de la province où ils résident,
  • b. qui ont reçu leur instruction, au niveau primaire, en français ou en anglais au Canada et qui résident dans une province où la langue dans laquelle ils ont reçu cette instruction est celle de la minorité francophone ou anglophone de la province, ont, dans l'une ou l'autre cas, le droit d'y faire instruire leurs enfants, aux niveaux primaire et secondaire, dans cette langue.
  • 2. Les citoyens canadiens dont un enfant a reçu ou reçoit son instruction, au niveau primaire ou secondaire, en français ou en anglais au Canada ont le droit de faire instruire tous leurs enfants, aux niveaux primaire et secondaire, dans la langue de cette instruction.
  • 3. Le droit reconnu aux citoyens canadiens par les paragraphes (1) et (2) de faire instruire leurs enfants, aux niveaux primaire et secondaire, dans la langue de la minorité francophone ou anglophone d'une province :
  • a. s'exerce partout dans la province où le nombre des enfants des citoyens qui ont ce droit est suffisant pour justifier à leur endroit la prestation, sur les fonds publics, de l'instruction dans la langue de la minorité ;
  • b. comprend, lorsque le nombre de ces enfants le justifie, le droit de les faire instruire dans des établissements d'enseignement de la minorité linguistique financés sur les fonds publics.

Haut de page
Haut de page


Recours

Article 24

  • 1. Toute personne, victime de violation ou de négation des droits ou libertés qui sont garantis par la présente charte, peut s'adresser à un tribunal compétent pour obtenir la réparation que le tribunal estime convenable et juste eu égard aux circonstances.
  • 2. Lorsque, dans une instance visée au paragraphe (1), le tribunal a conclu que des éléments de preuve ont été obtenus dans des conditions qui portent atteinte aux droits et aux libertés garantis par la présente charte, ces éléments de preuve sont écartés s'il est établi, eu égard aux circonstances, que leur utilisation est susceptible de déconsidérer l'administration de la justice.

Haut de page
Haut de page


Application de la Charte

Article 32

  • 1. La présente charte s'applique
  • a. au Parlement et au gouvernement du Canada, pour tous les domaines relevant du Parlement, y compris ceux qui concernant le territoire du Yukon et les territoires du Nord-Ouest;au Parlement et au gouvernement du Canada, pour tous les domaines relevant du Parlement, y compris ceux qui concernant le territoire du Yukon et les territoires du Nord-Ouest;
  • b. à la législature et au gouvernement de chaque province, pour tous les domaines relevant de cette législature.
  • 2. Par dérogation au paragraphe (1), l'article 15 n'a d'effet que trois ans après l'entrée en vigueur du présent article.

Article 33

  • 1. Le Parlement ou la législature d'une province peut adopter une loi où il est expressément déclaré que celle-ci ou une des ses dispositions a effet indépendamment d'une disposition donnée de l'article 2 ou des articles 7 à 15 de la présente charte.
  • 2. La loi ou la disposition qui fait l'objet d'une déclaration conforme au présent article et en vigueur a l'effect qu'elle aurait sauf la disposition en cause de la charte.
  • 3. La déclaration visée au paragraphe (1) cesse d'avoir effet à la date qui est précisée ou, au plus tard, cinq ans après son entrée en vigueur.
  • 4. Le Parlement ou une législature peut adopter de nouveau une déclaration visée au paragraphe (1).
  • 5. Le paragraphe (3) s'applique à toute déclaration adoptée sous le régime du paragraphe (4).

Haut de page
Haut de page


Dispositions générales

Article 27
Toute interprétation de la présente charte doit concorder avec l'objectif de promouvoir le maintien et la valorisation du patrimoine multiculturel des Canadiens.

Article 28
Indépendamment des autres dispositions de la présente charte, les droits et libertés qui y sont mentionnés sont garantis également aux personnes des deux sexes.

Article 52

  • 1. La Constitution du Canada est la loi suprême du Canada ; elle rend inopérantes les dispositions incompatibles de toute autre règle de droit.
  • 2. La Constitution du Canada comprend
  • a. la Loi sur le Canada, y compris la présente loi;
  • b. les textes législatifs et les décrets figurant à l'annexe;
  • c. les modifications des textes législatifs et des décrets mentionnés aux alinéas a) ou b).

La Constitution du Canada ne peut être modifiée que conformément aux pouvoirs conférés par elle.

Haut de page
Haut de page