CCPPCJ Logo

Your Right to Equality


Did You Know That...

  • Until the 1920's, no women in Canada were allowed to vote, and that it wasn't until the 1960's that all Canadian women could vote?
  • Aboriginal children were forced to go to residential schools where they were stripped of their culture and their language?
  • In the 1940's, Japanese Canadians were put in prison camps in Canada just because they were of Japanese ancestry?
  • Until the 1970's, there were laws in Canada that allowed governments to sterilize women and men with disabilities without their knowledge or consent?

All of these groups were denied equality.


What is Equality?

Equality means giving every person equal respect in society. Sometimes, people are treated differently or unfairly because of things like the colour of their skin, their religion or a physical disability. This is called discrimination. Many groups of people through history have suffered discrimination. Equality means that all people are treated fairly, without discrimination.


Canada's Charter of Rights and Freedoms

In 1985, governments recognized the need to protect equality, and passed Section 15 of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms. The Charter is part of the Constitution, Canada's most important law. The Charter sets out the rules by which governments have to operate.

Section 15 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms says:

Every individual is equal before and under the law and has the right to equal protection and equal benefit of the law without discrimination and, in particular, without discrimination based on race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, sex, age or mental or physical disability.

Section 15 of the Charter requires that our laws treat all people fairly and do not discriminate.

Sometimes, a law that seems to treat everyone exactly the same can still discriminate. Suppose there was a law that gave benefits to men and women equally, except when they were pregnant. We have come to understand that this law would discriminate against women, since only women can get pregnant, and would be the only ones to lose those benefits. This kind of law would violate the Charter.


Achieving Equality

There are many ways to achieve equality. One important way is to educate people about equality so that people understand they should not discriminate. Another way is to put pressure on government to take actions that respect equality for everyone. A third way is to take the government to court to challenge a law that discriminates.

If a court decides that a law discriminates and violates the Charter, it can "strike down" the law. Once a law is struck down, it can no longer be used. The government usually writes a new law that does not discriminate to replace the old one. Challenging a law in court is often the last choice, because going to court is very expensive and takes a long time.

Cases can still be important to promote equality even if they do not win in court. In the Thibaudeau case, for example, a woman challenged the tax law that required her to pay taxes on the child support she received from her children's father. She felt that this was unfair, and took the case to court. The court decided that this law did not violate Section 15. This case still had an important effect because the government is now changing the tax laws to try to make them fairer to all parents.


The Court Challenges Program - Helping to promote equality?

Sometimes, people think that a law or action is not fair, but do not know if their cases are strong enough to go to court. They need to research their cases to see if they have strong equality arguments. They then have to prepare court documents and argue the cases in court.

The Court Challenges Program of Canada can help people get their cases to court. The Program funds court cases challenging laws that may violate equality rights. It also helps people protect their official language rights under the Charter and the Constitution. It is a non-profit organization that is independent from the government.

A person or an organization who cannot afford the costs of a case can apply for financial help from the Court Challenges Program. There are different types of case funding available through the Program.

  • Case Development funding is used to research a case before it goes to court.
  • Case funding is used for the costs of taking it through court.

To get funding from the Program, a case must:

  • test equality rights guaranteed in Section 15 of the Charter;
  • be a "test case". This means that it will improve the way the law works for people who have suffered discrimination; and
  • challenge a federal government law or action


Achieving Equality

Individuals or groups can apply for funding for cases through the Court Challenges Program.

One example where funding was given to individuals and to a group is the Egan case. In the Egan case, a gay couple, Mr. Egan and Mr. Nesbit, challenged a law that gave government benefits to couples of the opposite sex, but refused those benefits to same sex couples. They argued that this law violated Section 15 because it was unfair to gay men and lesbians. The Program's funding helped Mr. Egan and Mr. Nesbit pay the costs of taking the case to court.

The Program also gave funding to a group called EGALE for the Egan case. EGALE (Equality for Gays and Lesbians Everywhere) is a national organization that promotes gay and lesbian rights. Because EGALE represents the interests of many lesbians and gay men across Canada, the court allowed it to present its own argument in the case. EGALE's argument showed that many gay men and lesbians are treated unfairly by this law, not just Mr. Egan and Mr. Nesbit.

The majority of judges in this case decided that the law did not violate the Charter. One of the judges said, however, that as society changes, governments may have to recognize new social relationships. This decision has put pressure on governments to review how our laws treat same sex relationships.


Other Funding

Program Promotion and Access funding is used to help people understand what equality is and what the Court Challenges Program does to promote equality rights.

This funding could be used to pay for organizing meetings for people to talk about particular laws that discriminate, find their common concerns and think about bringing cases to court to challenge those laws.

One example of when these meetings may be helpful is to talk about changes to the Canada Pension Plan (CPP). The government has announced that it is making changes to the Canada Pension Plan (CPP).

Once the changes are made, they could have an unfair effect on many different groups:

  • women ;
  • people with disabilities ;
  • poor people.
  • If, for example, one of the changes lowers disability benefits, this would have an unfair effect on people with disabilities. Program Promotion and Access funding could help people with disabilities meet to talk about those changes


How can I find out more about the Court Challenges Program?

You can contact the Court Challenges Program for more information about the Program itself, about how to apply or about your equality or language rights. You do not need to have a lawyer to apply for funding, and there is no application fee. Contact Us

CCPPCJ Logo

Vos droits à l'égalité


Saviez-vous que...

  • Jusqu'aux années '20, aucune Canadienne ne pouvait voter et qu'il a fallu attendre les années '60 avant que toutes les Canadiennes puissent voter ?
  • On obligeait les enfants autochtones à s'inscrire aux écoles résidentielles où on les dépouillait de leur langue et de leur culture ?
  • Dans les années '40 au Canada, on a interné les Japonais canadiens dans des camps simplement parce qu'ils étaient d'origine japonaise ?
  • Jusqu'aux années '70, les lois canadiennes permettaient aux gouvernements de stériliser les personnes ayant un handicap sans qu'elles le sachent ou qu'elles y consentent ?

On a nié l'égalité à tous ces groupes.


Qu'est-ce que l'égalité?

L'égalité, dans notre société, ça veut dire accorder à toute personne un respect égal. Parfois, des individus sont traités injustement ou différemment en raison de la couleur de leur peau, de leur religion ou d'un handicap physique. C'est ce qu'on appelle de la discrimination. À travers l'histoire, plusieurs groupes ou personnes ont subi de la discrimination. L'égalité, ça veut dire que tout le monde est considéré de manière équitable, sans discrimination.


La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés

En 1985, les gouvernements ont reconnu la nécessité de protéger les droits à l'égalité. Ceci a mené à l'article 15 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. La Charte fait partie de la Constitution, la loi la plus importante du Canada. La Charte établit les règles selon lesquelles les gouvernements doivent fonctionner.

L'article 15 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés prévoit ce que suit:

La loi ne fait acception de personne et s'applique également à tous, et tous ont droit à la même protection et au même bénéfice de la loi, indépendamment de toute discrimination, notamment des discriminations fondées sur la race, l'origine nationale ou ethnique, la couleur, la religion, le sexe, l'âge ou les déficiences mentales ou physiques.

L'article 15 de la Charte exige que nos lois soient justes envers tous et toutes, sans discrimination.

Parfois, une loi qui semble juste peut tout de même être discriminatoire. Supposons qu'une loi accorde des bénéfices égaux aux hommes et aux femmes, sauf au moment où une personne est enceinte. Nous savons maintenant que cette loi serait discriminatoire envers les femmes : étant seules à pouvoir être enceintes, elles seraient les seules à perdre les bénéfices. Une telle loi contreviendrait à la Charte.


Pour atteindre l'égalité

Il y a plusieurs façons d'atteindre l'égalité. Il est essentiel d'éduquer les gens pour qu'ils comprennent qu'ils ne doivent pas agir de façon discriminatoire. On peut aussi utiliser des moyens de pression afin que les actions du gouvernement respectent les droits à l'égalité de tous les individus. Au Canada, il est également possible d'intenter une action contre le gouvernement, afin de contester une loi discriminatoire.

Si un tribunal juge qu'une loi est discriminatoire et qu'elle viole la Charte, elle peut "abroger" cette loi et ainsi la rendre invalide. Quand une loi est abrogée, elle ne peut plus être utilisée. Habituellement, pour la remplacer, le gouvernement rédigera une nouvelle loi qui n'est pas discriminatoire. La contestation d'une loi devant un tribunal est souvent utilisée en dernier recours, parce que c'est une démarche longue et coûteuse.

Même si les décisions des tribunaux ne sont pas favorables, ces causes demeurent un excellent moyen de promouvoir l'égalité. Par exemple, dans la cause Thibaudeau, une femme a contesté la loi sur l'impôt qui exigeait qu'elle paie des impôts sur la pension alimentaire qu'elle recevait du père de ses enfants. Croyant que c'était injuste, elle a intenté une action. Le tribunal a conclut que la loi respectait l'article 15 de la Charte. Malgré cette décision, le gouvernement travaille à modifier ses lois sur l'impôt pour les rendre plus justes envers tous les parents. La cause a donc eu un impact positif.


Le Programme de contestation judiciaire : promouvoir l'égalité

Des personnes peuvent juger qu'une action ou une loi est discriminatoire, sans savoir si leur cause est assez solide pour se rendre devant les tribunaux. Elles doivent donc faire des recherches pour identifier les arguments d'égalité qui soutiennent leur cause. Ensuite, elles doivent préparer des documents et présenter leur cause devant les tribunaux.

Le Programme de contestation judiciaire du Canada peut aider les personnes à mener leur action en justice. Le Programme appuie financièrement des causes qui contestent des lois qui pourraient violer les droits à l'égalité. Le Programme appuie également les gens qui veulent protéger leurs droits linguistiques, dans l'une ou l'autre des langues officielles du pays, tels que définis dans la Charte et la Constitution. Le Programme est un organisme sans but lucratif, indépendant du gouvernement.

Lorsqu'un individu ou un groupe n'est pas en mesure d'assumer les coûts d'une action en justice, il peut présenter une demande d'aide financière au Programme de contestation judiciaire. Le Programme offre différents types de financement :

  • le financement pour une élaboration d'action, pour faire des recherches avant que la cause ne soit entendue devant les tribunaux ;
  • le financement d'une action en justice, pour défrayer les coûts de la démarche devant les tribunaux.

Pour obtenir du financement, une cause doit :

  • mettre à l'épreuve les droits à l'égalité de l'article 15 de la Charte ;
  • être une "cause-type", c'est-à-dire que la cause améliorera les mécanismes d'une loi pour les personnes victimes de discrimination ; et
  • contester une loi ou une action fédérale.


Qui peut faire une demande?

Des individus ou des groupes peuvent présenter une demande de financement au Programme de contestation judiciaire.

Par exemple, dans la cause Egan, le financement a été accordé à des individus et à des groupes. La cause Egan est celle d'un couple gai, Messieurs Egan et Nesbit. Ils ont contesté la loi qui permettait au gouvernement d'offrir des avantages sociaux aux couples de sexe opposé, tout en les refusant aux couples de même sexe. Ils affirmaient que cette loi contrevenait à l'article 15 parce qu'elle était injuste envers les gais et les lesbiennes. Le financement du Programme a appuyé les démarches devant le tribunal de Messieurs Egan et Nesbit.

Dans la cause Egan, le Programme a également accordé un appui financier au groupe ÉGALE (Égalité pour les gais et les lesbiennes). ÉGALE est un organisme national qui fait la promotion des droits des gais et lesbiennes. Le tribunal a accepté d'entendre les arguments d'ÉGALE, parce que c'est un groupe représentant les intérêts de nombreux gais et lesbiennes du pays. Le plaidoyer d'ÉGALE a permis de démontrer qu'en plus de Messieurs Egan et Nesbit, plusieurs gais et lesbiennes étaient traités injustement.

Dans cette cause, une majorité des juges a conclu que la loi ne violait pas la Charte. Toutefois, l'un des juges a déclaré que dans une société en constante évolution, les gouvernements auront peut-être à reconnaître l'existence de nouvelles relations sociales. Cette décision a contribué à ce que les gouvernements s'attardent aux impacts des lois sur les couples de même sexe.

Autre financement

Le financement offert sous Promotion et accès au Programme vise à ce que les gens comprennent mieux ce qu'est l'égalité et ce que le Programme de contestation judiciaire fait pour promouvoir les droits à l'égalité. Ce type de financement pourrait servir à payer les frais de rencontres organisées par des personnes qui veulent parler de lois particulières qu'elles jugent discriminatoires. Elles ont ainsi l'occasion d'identifier leurs préoccupations communes et éventuellement, de mener une action en justice pour contester ces lois.

On sait que le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé des modifications au Régime de pension du Canada (RPC). Le financement pourrait donc servir à payer les coûts des réunions entre personnes intéressées à discuter des changements à venir au RPC.

Ces changements pourraient avoir un impact négatif sur plusieurs groupes du pays :

  • les femmes ;
  • les personnes ayant un handicap ;
  • les personnes pauvres.

Si par exemple l'une des modifications propose de diminuer les bénéfices accordés aux personnes ayant un handicap, celles-ci pourraient évidemment subir une injustice. Le financement obtenu sous Promotion et accès au Programme pourrait servir à des rencontres entre personnes ayant un handicap, pour qu'elles puissent discuter de ces changements.


Comment en savoir plus sur le Programme de contestation judiciaire ?

Communiquez avec le Programme de contestation judiciaire :

  • pour obtenir des renseignements sur le Programme lui-même ;
  • pour savoir comment faire une demande de financement ;
  • pour en savoir plus sur vos droits à l'égalité ou vos droits linguistiques.

La demande de financement est gratuite et vous n'avez pas besoin des services d'un avocat ou d'une avocate. Contactez nous.